Christian Thompson has won the 2018 O’Neal & Mundy Commodore’s Race racing a Laser. The junior division was claimed by Samuel Allen whilst Nathan and Chris Haycraft won the RS Feva class.

12 boats took part in this annual end of year celebration and in a change to the norm it was this year contested in Lasers and RS Fevas. A beautiful BVI racing day with sometimes challenging conditions and plenty of breeze.

Five Lasers and one Laser Radial duked it out for the adult Laser category with three juniors racing in 4.7s. Christian Thompson took an early lead and claimed three wins from the four races. Second overall was decided on countback and went to Ollie Alsop who was the only sailor to pinch a bullet from Thompson. Colin Rathbun finished in third place with Sam Talbot in fourth. Samuel Allen also took three out of four firsts in the youth division, seeing off Stephen Ganga and De’Sani Thomas.

The Feva class was a family affair with three teams enjoying the new boats and some very close racing. Nathan Haycraft with dad Chris took the first three bullets to end the series on six points (switching positions for the final race did not seem to work so well). Eddie Brockbank and daughter Ashley took the final race win to finish in second overall on eight points with Becky Paull and daughter Victoria Rowlette coming in third on 10 points.

Thank you everyone who took part and of course to our sponsor O’Neal & Mundy. Thank you as always to the volunteers who turned out to run the racing – Giles Wood, Clair Burke, Toby McCullough, Mandi Atack and Tamsin Rand. Thank you to Julia and John Campbell for the loan of the committee boat and IYM for letting us borrow Cheetah.


  1. Christian Thompson
  2. Ollie Alsop
  3. Colin Rathbun
  4. Sam Talbot
  5. Andy Morrell
  6. Alastair Abrehart

Laser Junior

  1. Samuel Allen
  2. Stephen Ganga
  3. De’Sani Thomas

RS Feva

  1. Nathan and Chris Haycraft
  2. Eddie and Ashley Brockbank
  3. Becky Paull and Victoria Rowlette

Photos are on our Flickr site here or on Facebook here

About Post Author

© Caribbean Sailing Association 2018